RSS Feed

Love In a Bowl

 

I had a wonderful weekend off with Leif. He works shift work and only has every second weekend off. I guess you can say the weekends we are off together are extra special as they aren’t as frequent as most people would have. We live in California, where most would assume it’s summer year round. That’s not the case. It’s finally starting to feel like Fall. This time of year is one of my favorites back in Canada. The anticipation of the first snow fall makes my toes tingle. I am one of the crazy ones who loves snow and the winter.

Today I was in the mood for some warm, cozy food. I had a butternut squash patiently waiting in my kitchen to be gobbled up, and today was the day. I made Meghann’s Butternut Squash and Apple Soup from Meals and Miles. I followed the same recipe she used.  Let me tell you… it was delicious. Our home smelled like warm apple pie all afternoon while it was cooking. Leif gave it two thumbs up and I will definitely be adding it to my recipe vault.

You will need:

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 2 large apples
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • garlic (add as much or as little as you like, depending on preference)
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • pepper

IMG_4434

Not gonna lie… I avoided squash in the grocery store for years because I had no idea what to do with it. It is a challenge to get it peeled and cut, but SO worth it.

Peel and cut the squash.

IMG_4469

IMG_4454

IMG_4467

Chop the apples. Cutting the softer apples after dealing with the squash was such a treat! I felt like I had a super knife slicing and dicing through these red ones so easily.

IMG_4473

Mix apples and squash in pot and set to low heat while you prepare other ingredients.

IMG_4476

Chop 1/2 onion. Add to pot.

IMG_4478

Add all remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil and then set to low heat. Let ingredients soften for 1.5 hours.

IMG_4479

Blend baby!

You can also use a hand blender if you have one. Much easier than transporting everything in the blender and then back in the pot.

IMG_4526

Put back on low heat until you are ready to eat.

ENJOY!

IMG_4527

This bowl did not stay half full very long. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow. It had a nice sweet taste from the apples but a hearty warm feeling from the squash.

Thanks Meghann for posting this recipe! It was a delight.

 

When Leif and I were doing long distance from California to Eastern Canada, we had to find ways to make it exciting. So we traveled. A lot. We met in different cities for long weekends and did as many visits to see each other as our credit cards could handle. We met in New York City for Easter weekend when I was still teaching in Canada. On our last full day in the city it was particularly cold. We had to make many pit stops to thaw as we walked around the city all day. One stop was Starbucks for a hot drink. This was written on my cup and it’s been one of my favorite quotes. It makes me think, and smile, whenever I read it. To see my quotes page click here.

IMG_2045

 

There is a subtle difference between a mission and a promise. A mission is something you strive to accomplish – a promise is something you are compelled to keep. One is individual, the other is shared. When a mission and a promise are the same… that’s when mountains are moved and races are won.
– Hala Moddelmog.

 

Where is one of the best places you’ve found a favorite quote displayed?

About Truly Simple

Runner, Wife, Teacher, Lover of Photography, The Outdoors,

Leave a Reply

