RSS Feed

Ceasar Dress A La Homemade

Happy Remembrance to my Canadian friends and Memorial day to everyone in the USA. Growing up in Canada, I was always used to November 11th being a day off/at home watching the Remembrance Day ceremonies on TV. Everything would be shut down. Today, my first year in the USA everything seems to be operating as normal. Stores are open, the malls are busy. I also noticed the same thing on December 26th/boxing day while spending several Christmas’ here the last few years. Everyone was back to work, stores were open and it was like Christmas never even happened. I do prefer the extra family day in Canada to spend one more day celebrating the holidays together.

After a busy morning of cleaning, doing P90X with Leif and some work, I am sitting with a cup of my favorite Chai Tea, a new Larabar flavor (coconut cream pie. Very sweet and satisfying. Sorry no pictures) and listening to Christmas music via Pandora (Best site ever!).

We are on day #11 of P90X and still surviving. We’ve had many days of being sore in places we didn’t even know muscles existed, and days we thought it was extremely difficult, but other days where we loved it and felt amazing after completing another day. I am not going to push it too hard while doing the next few days as I am running a half marathon Sunday! I highly recommend finding someone to do it with. Even if you aren’t physically doing the exercises together, having a buddy to motivate you and keep you going would be a major help in my eyes.

I have also been busy knitting two Christmas stockings. One for Leif and one for me. Since it is our first Christmas married, I wanted to make something special to have for years to come. I have lots more projects in mind to do after this. I am almost done and will post some pictures once the final project is ready.

A little preview….

IMG_4929 IMG_4908

I am really happy with how they are turning out!

 

Last week we went to a pot luck and I decided to bring ceasar salad. Most people are always a fan. I have gotten away any store-bought salad dressings. I’ve been making my own ceasar, greek and house dressings for months and I don’t think I’ll ever buy store-bought again. They are really easy and so tasty! This ceasar recipe was given to me from a good friend of mine, Kelly, and I’ve made a few modifications after making it dozens of times.

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp mayo
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1/4 c parmesan cheese
  • pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 2 tsp sugar

Mix together and refrigerate until you are ready to serve. Add to lettuce, croutons, bacon bits or whatever else you like on your ceasar salad. It’s so easy and delicious. If you like your dressing creamy or not as thick you can change the recipe up a bit. It’s got a nice zip to it and it’s a hit every time I make it.

IMG_4647

I don’t have a picture of the salad mixed together, but you get the idea.

We received these salad forks as a wedding gift. I am in love! Without the right tools, scooping out a salad can be a disaster. It’s great for having company too.

IMG_4648

Have a wonderful Remembrance/Memorial day!

About Truly Simple

Runner, Wife, Teacher, Lover of Photography, The Outdoors,

Leave a Reply

