RSS Feed

Quiet Nights in are #1

Tonight Leif and I had a quiet movie night in. We were busy all day getting lots of errands and work done so it was a well deserved relaxing night. Leif cooked fajitas for supper which were amazing. He has chicken fajitas and I had veggie fajitas.

IMG_5011

We stir fried the veggies with lots of spices, served over a whole wheat wrap and topped with cheese, greek yogurt (instead of sour cream. This was the first time I’ve tried it and it is a great subsitute!) and believe it or not there is some salsa in there too.

A beer is a must for nights like this. We have been putting limes in any/all of our drinks lately and it gives them a nice zesty taste. Even “lime” flavored beer tastes better with our own slice.

IMG_5010

We opened a NetFlix account a month ago so we have been watching an abundance of movies lately. We watched the movie Say Anything with John Cusack. It’s an 80’s classic. I was a fan and thought it was a funny/quirky movie, except we had to miss a few scenes because the disk was scratched. We still got the jist of it. We are also on a Glee kick after getting Netflix. We are almost done season 1 and still going strong.

Last time I was shopping I came across these coffee samples.

IMG_4337 

I have to admit, I am not a very good coffee maker. I am also a huge tea fan and feel like I am cheating on my true love when I switch to coffee. I don’t LOVE coffee, but I do like to sip it on cold days to give me a pick me up. The French Vanilla flavor was sweet and had a nice kick to it. I have yet to try Cinnamon but I have no doubt I’ll like it.

Leif came home from work, after working all night with a little surprise..

IMG_4975

A picture I had drawn for Leif for our first Christmas together. It’s of his favorite modern looking house close to where he grew up.

IMG_4991

IMG_4980  IMG_4987

It made me smile from ear to ear and was very thoughtful! I love little surprises like that. When we were doing long distance he ordered flowers and had them delivered to my classroom not once, but twice!  Long distance was not easy, but things like this made it worth it. I wouldn’t trade it for the world as it worked out for us and we are now happily married.

The first time was for Valentine’s Day. My principal showed up at my door in the middle of a math lesson with a box in hand. My face was as RED these roses.. I get embarassed easily. My kids were so curious!

IMG_0804  IMG_0797

IMG_0940

The second surprise came on my last day of the school year. This was also my last day at that school and school board. I had already decided to give up my contract at the end of the year so that I could move to California where Leif was already living.

IMG_2512 IMG_2516 

All the ladies I worked with were a little jealous and wondered how I got such a gem.

Off to do some work and get to bed early! Busy weekend ahead.

About Truly Simple

Runner, Wife, Teacher, Lover of Photography, The Outdoors,

Leave a Reply

